Teacher of the Deaf/Hard of Hearing (DHH)
2021-2022 School Year

Job Type: Full-time, 182 days, 7.0 hours/day

Start Date: August 18, 2021

Position Description

The NIA Hearing Department is in search of a full-time DHH Itinerant Teacher. Duties include planning and implementing lesson, evaluation of students, management of student caseloads, and collaboration with educational teams. Travel is required.

Job Qualifications

Professional Educator License (PEL) with Deaf/Hard of Hearing Endorsement
Must be fluent in American Sign Language.

Position Location

Aurora District 131

Contact Information

Rebecca Moody, Education Department Executive
Northwestern Illinois Association
2422 W. Main Street, Suite 3A
St. Charles, IL 60174

Application Process and Deadline
  1. Completion of NIA online application
  2. Formal letter of application
  3. Personal Resume
  4. Letters of Recommendation (3)
  5. Official Transcripts
  6. Copy of appropriate certificate(s)

Deadline: Posting open until position filled

General Information

The Northwestern Illinois Association (NIA) is a regional special education cooperative comprised of seventy-two school districts located in the ten northwestern counties of Illinois. The primary mission of the NIA is to provide special education services to children with low incidence impairments (hearing, vision and orthopedic/multiple disabilities).

The NIA region has been divided into three sub-regions for more effective planning and service delivery. The NIA maintains its administrative office in Sycamore with satellite offices located in each of the NIA sub-regions. Within the region there are fourteen special education districts or cooperatives, and twenty nonpublic agencies with which NIA personnel work closely in the provision of special education services.

The Northwestern Illinois Association is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Find us in Northwestern Illinois

4 Office Locations

  • Sycamore
  • Rockford
  • St. Charles
  • Sterling

5 Hearing Clinic Locations

  • Aurora
  • St. Charles
  • South Beloit
  • Rockford
  • Sterling