The Northwestern Illinois Association

The Northwestern Illinois Association (N.I.A.) is a Regional Special Education Cooperative serving children with special needs ages birth-21 years.

These students reside in our member school districts located in the 10 northwestern counties of Illinois (Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, Jo Daviess, Kane, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago).

The personnel of the NIA and of member districts and participating special education cooperatives work together to develop comprehensive services for children with special needs. Typically school districts provide the teacher, classroom, and basic educational materials and equipment for these children. The NIA provides specialized related and supported services for these programs and organizations.


Administrative Staff

245 W. Exchange, Suite 4
Sycamore, IL 60178
Fax: 815.895.2971

Jon Malone, Regional Director
Jan Binder, Administrative Assistant, Accounts Payable
Jean Tritle, Administrative Assistant, Human Resources
Cindy Vogeler, Administrative Assistant, Grants and Finance
Kellie Vinz, Office Professional to Administrator

Program Coordinators and Supervisors

Jon Malone, Regional Director 815.895.9227

Carol Johnson, Supervisor, Hearing Department 815.238.0355

Kathy Reuter, Supervisor, Hearing Department 630.402.2011

Noelle New, Supervisor, Hearing Department 815.229.2161

Rebecca Hanson, Program Supervisor, Deaf/HOH 847.792.3500, ext. 2767

Diane Finn, Coordinator, Hearing, Vision, Ortho, Multi Department 779.423.6916

Jean Deptolla, Assistant Coordinator, Vision, Ortho, Multi Department 630.402.2016

Sheri White, Supervisor, Vision, Ortho, Multi Department 779.423.6936

Jill Tabone, Therapy Operations Executive 630.402.2005

Karen Nelson, Co-Coordinator, Therapy Department 779.423.6925

Phyllis Rowland, Assistant Coordinator, Therapy Department 630.402.2006